Skip to main content

Dean's Office

Administration

Dean

Walker, Laura Padilla.jpg
Laura Padilla-Walker
Dean, College of Family, Home, and Social Sciences
Professor of Family Life

990-C KMBL
801-422-2083
laura_walker@byu.edu

Associate Deans

Mikaela Dufur
Associate Dean, Faculty Evaluation
Professor of Sociology

Capital Equipment; College Rank and Status; Computing Services & Technology; Diversity, Collaboration, and Inclusion: Gender & Health/Disability; Faculty Profiles; Stewardship Interviews; University Awards; University Faculty Development Meeting

990-D KMBL
801-422-1720
mikaela_dufur@byu.edu
Samuel M. Otterstrom
Associate Dean, Curriculum & Teaching
Professor of Geography​

Academic Advisement; American Heritage; Assessment; Bachelor of General Studies; BYU Online & Independent Study; BYU-Salt Lake Center; Education Preparation; Graduate Studies; International Study; Scholarships; Student Career Development Council; Student Complaints; University and College Curriculum Council; Writing Instruction

990-Q KMBL
801-422-7751
samuel_otterstrom@byu.edu
Yamawaki, Niwako.jpg
Niwako Yamawaki
Associate Dean, Development
Professor of Psychology

​Chair-Marjorie Pay Hinckley Endowed Chair​ Committee; College Space; Diversity, Collaboration, and Inclusion: Race and First-Generation Students; Faculty Leaves; Mary Lou Fulton Mentored Student Research Conference; Research Awards and Grants; Reviews for Institutes and Centers

990-A KMBL
801-422-8053
niwako_yamawaki@byu.edu

Assistant Deans

Mike Bridenbaugh
Assistant Dean
Controller


990-H KMBL
801-422-2152
michael_bridenbaugh@byu.edu
Danny Damron
Assistant Dean
Experiential Learning &
Professional Development

945 KMBL
801-422-2168
danny_damron@byu.edu
Jordan Karpowitz
Assistant Dean
Communications & External Relations

946 KMBL
801-422-1320
jordan_karpowitz@byu.edu
fhss_communications@byu.edu
Lita Little Giddins
Assistant Dean
Diversity, Collaboration, and Inclusion


934 KMBL
801-422-3703
lita_giddins@byu.edu
Joseph Olsen
Assistant Dean
Director of Information Technology and the FHSS Research Support Center

922 KMBL
801-422-6296
joseph_olsen@byu.edu

Dean's Office Staff

Carina Alleman
Assistant to the Dean


990-B KMBL
801-422-2084
carina.alleman@byu.edu
Sara Kaylor
Events​ Coordinator & Administrative Support

990-F KMBL
801-422-1355
sara​_donakey@byu.edu
Stephanie Probst
Assistant Controller


990-J KMBL
801-422-8192
stephanie_probst@byu.edu

Student Staff

Front Desk Assistants
990 KMBL
801-422-2083
fhss@byu.edu
Financial Assistants
990-J KMBL
801-422-8555
fhss-finance@byu.edu
Writers
990 KMBL
801-422-3819
fhsswriters@byu.edu