Skip to main content

Dean's Office

Administration

Dean

Laura Padilla-Walker

Dean, College of Family, Home, and Social Sciences
Professor of Family Life

990-C KMBL
801-422-2083
laura_walker@byu.edu

Associate Deans

Mikaela Dufur

Associate Dean, Faculty
Professor of Sociology

Chair-Marjorie Pay Hinckley Endowed Chair​ Committee; College Rank and Status; Computing Services & Technology; Faculty Leaves; Faculty Profiles; Research Awards and Grants; Reviews for Institutes and Centers; Stewardship Interviews; Reviews for Institutes and Centers; University Awards; University Faculty Development Meeting

990-D KMBL
801-422-1720
mikaela_dufur@byu.edu

Samuel M. Otterstrom

Associate Dean, Curriculum & Teaching
Professor of Geography​

Academic Advisement; American Heritage; Assessment; Bachelor of General Studies; BYU Online & Independent Study; BYU-Salt Lake Center; Education Preparation; Graduate Studies; International Study; Mentored Student Research Conferences; Scholarships; Student Career Development Council; Student Complaints; University and College Curriculum Council; Writing Instruction

990-Q KMBL
801-422-7751
samuel_otterstrom@byu.edu
Yamawaki, Niwako.jpg

Niwako Yamawaki

Associate Dean, Belonging
Professor of Psychology

​Belonging Initiatives; BIPOC in Academia Conference; Diversity, Collaboration, and Inclusion; Research Academy

990-A KMBL
801-422-8053
niwako_yamawaki@byu.edu

Assistant Deans

Mike Bridenbaugh

Assistant Dean, Controller
Capital Equipment; Space


990-H KMBL
801-422-2152
michael_bridenbaugh@byu.edu

Danny Damron

Assistant Dean
Experiential Learning &
Professional Development

945 KMBL
801-422-2168
danny_damron@byu.edu

Lita Little Giddins

Assistant Dean
Diversity, Collaboration, and Inclusion


934 KMBL
801-422-3703
lita_giddins@byu.edu

Jordan Karpowitz

Assistant Dean
Communications & External Relations

946 KMBL
801-422-1320
jordan_karpowitz@byu.edu
fhss_communications@byu.edu

Joseph Olsen

Assistant Dean
Director of Information Technology and the FHSS Research Support Center

922 KMBL
801-422-6296
joseph_olsen@byu.edu

Dean's Office Staff

Carina Alleman

Assistant to the Dean

990-B KMBL
801-422-2084
carina.alleman@byu.edu

Sarah Rogers

Events​ Coordinator

990-F KMBL
801-422-1355
sarah.rogers@byu.edu

Kathleen Reyes

Administrative & Account Coordinator

990-N KMBL
801-422-3819
kathleen_reyes@byu.edu

Stephanie Probst

Assistant Controller

990-J KMBL
801-422-8192
stephanie_probst@byu.edu

Student Staff

Front Desk Assistants

990 KMBL
801-422-2083
fhss@byu.edu

Financial Assistants

990-J KMBL
801-422-8555
fhss-finance@byu.edu

Alumni Relations

943 KMBL
801-422-3920
fhss-alumni@byu.edu

Designers

Writers